The Tour de France 2015 Itinerary revealed


The 2015 Tour de France route has been revealed today in Paris. The 102nd race of the “Grande Boucle” will take place from the 4th to the 26th July. This will be another opportunity to discover the beautiful landscapes of Holland, Belgium and – bien sûr – France!

The 2015 Tour de France

On the 4th July 2015, the 102nd edition of the Tour de France will start in the city of Utrecht in the Netherlands. Although the country shares no direct border with France, it will be the sixth time the Tour de France will have started there after 1954 (Amsterdam), 1973 (Scheveningen), 1978 (Leiden), 1996 (‘s-Hertogenbosch) and 2010 (Rotterdam).


The Tour de France will include flat stages in the Netherlands from Utrecht to Neeltje Jans (Zealand) and in Belgium from Antwerpen to Huy and Seraing to Cambrai, France.

In Northern France, there will be a few flat and hill stages in Nord-Pas-de-Calais and Picardy from Arras to Amiens. The Tour will head to Normandy from Abbeville to Le Havre and to Brittany from Livarot to Fougères. During the weekend of 11th/12th July, the Tour de France will criss-cross the province of Brittany from Rennes to Mûr de Bretagne and Vannes.

The riders and their teams will fly straight to the South of France to start the first mountain stages in the Pyrenees from Pau. The last Pyrenean stage will lead the Tour de France three days later to the Plateau de Beille. From Muret near Toulouse, the Tour will then take the direction to the French Alps, with medium-mountain stages between the départements of Haute-Garonne and Drôme (Rodez, Mende, Valence).

In the French Alps, the cyclist will face the demanding mountain passes in both the Provençal Alps and the Northern French Alps of Dauphiné and Savoie.

The finish will take place on Sunday 26th July in the Champs-Élysées, after a flat stage (107 km) between Sèvres and Paris.

Itinerary Map of the 2015 Tour de France

The 21 stages of the 2015 Tour de France

The 21 stages of the 2015 edition of the Tour de France will take place in three countries: France, Belgium and the Netherlands.

The “Grande Boucle” will criss-cross through 11 French regions: Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Picardy, Haute-Normandie,Basse-Normandie,Bretagne, Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrénées, Languedoc-Roussillon, Rhône-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, and Île de France.

1st stage: Saturday 4 July

from Utrecht (NED) to Utrecht (NED)

Individual Time Trial of 14 km


2nd stage: Sunday 5 July

from Utrecht (NED) to Neeltje Jans (NED)

Flat stage of 166 km


3rd stage: Monday 6 July

from Antwerpen (B) to Huy (B)

Hill stage of 154 km


4th stage: Tuesday 7 July

from Seraing (B) to Cambrai (F)

Flat stage of 221 km


5th stage: Wednesday 8 July

from Arras to Amiens

Flat stage of 189 km


6th stage: Thursday 9 July

from Abbeville to Le Havre

Flat stage of 191 km


7th stage: Friday 10 July 

from Livarot to Fougères

Flat stage of 190 km


8th stage: Saturday 11 July

from Rennes to Mûr de Bretagne

Hill stage of 179 km


9th stage: Sunday 12 July

from Vannes to Plumelec

Individual Time Trial of 28 km


Monday 13 July: Rest Day

in Pau


10th stage: Tuesday 14 July 

from Tarbes to La Pierre Saint-Martin

Mountain stage of 167 km


11th stage: Wednesday 15 July

from Pau to Cauterets

Mountain stage of 188 km


12th stage: Thursday 16 July

from Lannemezan to Plateau de Beille

Mountain stage of 195 km


13th stage: Friday 17 July

from Muret to Rodez

Medium Mountain stage of 200 km


14th stage: Saturday 18 July 

from Rodez to Mende

Hill stage of 178 km


15th stage: Sunday 19 July

from Mende to Valence

Flat stage of 182 km


16th stage: Monday 20 July

from Bourg-de-Péage to Gap

Hill stage of 201 km


Tuesday 21 July: Rest Day

in Gap


17th stage: Wednesday 22 July

from Digne-les-Bains to Pra-Loup

Mountain stage of 161 km


18th stage: Thursday 23 July

from Gap to Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne

Mountain stage of 185 km


19th stage: Friday 24 July

from Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne to La Toussuire-Les Sybelles

Mountain stage of 138 km


20th stage: Saturday 25 July

from Modane to L’Alpe d’Huez

Mountain stage of 110 km


21th stage: Sunday 27 July

from Sèvres to Paris (Champs-Élysées)

Flat stage of 107 km

English-French Vocabulary

(f) for féminin, (m) for masculin, (adj) for adjective and (v) for verbs

  • Alps = Alpes (f,p)
  • Antwerpen = Anvers
  • Belgium = Belgique (f)
  • cyclist = cycliste (m)
  • finish line = ligne d’arrivée (f)
  • Holland = Hollande (f)
  • individual time trial = contre-la-montre (m)
  • itinerary = itinéraire (m), parcours (m)
  • the Netherlands = Pays-Bas (m,p)
  • race = course (f)
  • stage = étape (f)

Find out more about the Tour de France 2015 on the official website.


About Author

Pierre is a French/Australian who is passionate about France and its culture. He grew up in France and Germany and has also lived in Australia and England. In 2014 he moved back to Europe from Sydney with his wife and daughter to be closer to their families and to France. He has a background teaching French and holds a Master of Translating and Interpreting English-French with the degree of Master of International Relations and a degree of Economics and Management.

Leave A Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.