Fourth Arrondissement of Paris


The Fourth arrondissement is home to one of the most famous monuments in Paris: the cathedral of Notre-Dame. Mostly located on the Right bank of River Seine, it includes the two islands of Île de la Cité and Île Saint-Louis.

A few words about the 4th arrondissement

The Fourth arrondissement of Paris (le quatrième arrondissement) is situated on the right bank of River Seine and also includes half the island of Île de la Cité and the whole of Île Saint-Louis.

It is the third smallest arrondissement of Paris, covering an area of 1.601 km2 with a population of 27,887 (2011). The 4th arrt partly covers the historic district of Le Marais which extends into the 3rd arrondissement.

The 4th arrt includes some famous Parisian monuments such as the Gothic cathedral of Notre-Dame, the neo-Renaissance edifice of City Hall of Paris, and the modern futuristic structure of the Pompidou Centre.

The Marais historic district


In the Marais district near the church of Saint-Paul Saint-Louis is the Rue des Rosiers (literally street of the rosebushes) which lies at the centre of the Jewish quarter often known locally as “the Pletzl” (Yiddish for “little place”). The neighbourhood has become famous for fashion.

Some of the last examples of half-timbered houses in Paris can be discovered in Rue François Miron and Rue Grenier near the City-Hall of the 4th arrt.

The Marais district is home to the royal square of Place des Vosges dating from the 17th century.

Île de la Cité

Quais de la Seine © French Moments

The ship-shaped island is the historical heart of Paris which was known as Lutetia (Lutèce) during the Roman era. The island has been inhabited since the 1st century BC by the Parisii tribe of the Gauls. It is linked to the Right and Left Banks by eight bridges, and a ninth leads to the smaller Île Saint-Louis.

Find out more about Île de la Cité.

Île Saint-Louis

Quais de la Seine © French Moments

The calm little Île Saint-Louis has nothing in common with its larger neighbour Île de la Cité. Named after King Louis IX (Saint-Louis), it includes no great monuments except a few interesting mansions such as Hôtel Lambert. Nevertheless, the island is appreciated for its beautiful quays and peaceful residential district in the centre of Paris.

Find out more about Île Saint-Louis.

Public institutions and organisations in the 4th arrondissement

Many public institutions have their seat in the 4th arrt:

Main places of interest in the 4th arrondissement

The 4th arrondissement includes one of Paris’ most famous monument: Notre-Dame de Paris. There are many other places of interest to be discovered on the Right bank, the Île de la Cité and Île Saint-Louis, without forgetting the ‘quais de la Seine’ which have been listed as a World Heritage site by Unesco:

The main places of interest in the 4th arrondissement are:

  • Our pages on the 4th ARRONDISSEMENT

  • Share.

    About Author

    Pierre is a French/Australian who is passionate about France and its culture. He grew up in France and Germany and has also lived in Australia and England. In 2014 he moved back to Europe from Sydney with his wife and daughter to be closer to their families and to France. He has a background teaching French and holds a Master of Translating and Interpreting English-French with the degree of Master of International Relations and a degree of Economics and Management.

    Leave A Reply