Browsing: Grand Est

Regions of France Grand Est June 2016 copyright French Moments

Grand Est comprises of the former administrative regions of Alsace, Champagne-Ardenne and Lorraine. It is the sixth largest of the regions of France and includes three mountain ranges: the Vosges, the (Alsatian) Jura and the Ardennes. The region is bordered by the River Rhine on the East which forms the border with Germany. The region’s largest cities are Strasbourg, Nancy, Metz, Mulhouse, Reims and Troyes. The head city of the region is Strasbourg.

Alsace Old cars © OTC Mulhouse

Mulhouse hosts several museums, some of which have gained international renown, making the city the…

Alsace Ferrette © copyright French Moments

The Sundgau’s touristic appeal is closely linked to its history. This territory was once a…

Alsace Munster Cheese © French Moments

Munster is a cheese from the Vosges Mountains produced in Alsace and Lorraine. Munster or…

Alsace Kugelhopf Alsace © French Moments

Kugelhopf, Kougelhof, Kouglof… there are many names to describe what is certainly Alsace’s most famous…

Alsace Place de la Réunion in Mulhouse © French Moments

Mulhouse history is about revealing a former Free Imperial City associated to Switzerland with a…