Browsing: Grand Est

Regions of France Grand Est June 2016 copyright French Moments

Grand Est comprises of the former administrative regions of Alsace, Champagne-Ardenne and Lorraine. It is the sixth largest of the regions of France and includes three mountain ranges: the Vosges, the (Alsatian) Jura and the Ardennes. The region is bordered by the River Rhine on the East which forms the border with Germany. The region’s largest cities are Strasbourg, Nancy, Metz, Mulhouse, Reims and Troyes. The head city of the region is Strasbourg.

Alsace Tour des Sorcières Chatenois 2 © French Moments

Châtenois (département of Bas-Rhin) is situated on the foothills of the Vosges and is surrounded by the vineyards…

Alsace Thann 04 copyright French Moments

The little town of Thann lies on the eastern slopes of the Vosges, in the département of Haut-Rhin…

Alsace Saint-Theobald collegiate church Thann 16 copyright French Moments

The Saint-Theobald Collegiate of Thann in Alsace is considered one of the most beautiful Gothic churches…

Alsace Turckheim on the Alsace Wine Route © French Moments

The little town of Turckheim lies on the eastern slopes of the Vosges, six kilometres east…

Alsace Rouffach © French Moments

Rouffach is a little town of 5,000 between Colmar (15kms) and Guebwiller (10kms) in the département…

Alsace Hirtzbach Summer 2014 13 copyright French Moments

Last Sunday we visited the little flower-decked village of Hirtzbach, secretly situated to the South…

1 2 3